Thursday, April 26, 2007

Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin Installed As 13th Yang di-Pertuan Agong Today.

The installation ceremony of the Sultan of Terengganu, Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin, as the 13th Yang di-Pertuan Agong began this morning with the inspection of a guard-of-honour.

Four officers and 107 other ranks from the ceremonial unit of the Royal Malay Regiment from the Sungai Besi Army Camp mounted the guard-of-honour at the Istana Negara grounds.

Tuanku Mizan and Raja Permaisuri Agong Tuanku Nur Zahirah were accompanied to the Royal Stage by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to take the Royal Salute followed by the playing of the national anthem, "Negaraku".

Simultaneously with the playing of the "Negaraku", His Majesty's personal flag was hoisted, followed by the inspection of the guard-of-honour by Tuanku Mizan, who was accompanied by the guard-of-honour leader Mejar Mohanad Qadri Abu Bakar, to the accompaniment of "Menjunjung Duli" (Hail the King).

After the inspection, the King and Queen adjourned to Bilik Duta at Istana Negara for a short rest before proceeding to the Balairong Seri for the official installation ceremony, the last to be held at Istana Negara.

The Istana Negara is expected to move to a spanking new RM400 million complex at Jalan Duta here covering 96.52 hectares. Its construction is expected to start in June and completed in 2009.

The present Istana Negara, originally owned by a Chinese millionaire, Chan Wing, was built in 1928 and has seen the installations of all the 13 Yang di-Pertuan Agongs will be turned into a Royal Museum.

Today's installation ceremony, steeped in Malay custom and tradition, was televised live by RTM and TV3 and recorded by the National Geographic and the National Film Development Corporation (Finas) for a documentary of the Malay Sultanate.

The documentary, depicting Malaysia's unique royal institution, will be shown throughout the world.

The installation ceremony, held once every five years according to the rotation of the nine Malay Rulers to become the Yang di-Pertuan Agong, is being held at the Balairong Seri of Istana Negara.

According to the installation procedures issued by the Protocol Division and Secretariat for International Conferences at the Prime Minister's Department, the installation ceremony will start with the blowing of the nafiri (trumpet) and striking of the nobat (drum) to the tune of "Raja Berangkat" by the Royal Nobat Group from Terengganu to mark the entrance of the Royal couple to the Balairong Seri.

The colourful ceremony is attended by the Malay Rulers, Yang Dipertuas Negeri, Prime Minister, Deputy Prime Minister, Ministers, Menteris Besar, Chief Ministers, members of their Majesties royal families, foreign diplomats and special invited guests. (Bernama)
Image - Source
Read here: Pledge By Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin At His Installation

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

<< Home

!-- End #sidebar -->
Malaysia Blog Sites Listing Check Web Rank World Top Blogs - Blog TopSites hits Blog Portal